Together, we have been personally involved for many years to bring together the major players in clinical research in Québec. Our vision was that the fight against breast cancer would require increasing access and participation in innovative research trials. Supported by a private contribution from our family, the McPeak-Sirois Group became in 2015 a reality of which we are particularly proud. It is today one of the most important consortiums in breast cancer clinical research in Canada.

Susan McPeak and Charles Sirois

Together, we have been personally involved for many years to bring together the major players in clinical research in Québec. Our vision was that the fight against breast cancer would require increasing access and participation in innovative research trials. Supported by a private contribution from our family, the McPeak-Sirois Group became in 2015 a reality of which we are particularly proud. It is today one of the most important consortiums in breast cancer clinical research in Canada.

Susan McPeak and Charles Sirois

Our mission is to fight breast cancer
more effectively by increasing
patients’ access and participation
to clinical trials

Objective 2023

The Programme Accès-recherche was created to bring clinical research closer to breast cancer patients throughout Quebec by developing a partnership with at least one establishment per region by 2023.

As of Fall 2021, six hospital centers had joined the four founding institutions of the Group through its Programme Accès-recherche, namely the CIUSSS de l’Est-de-l’Île-de-Montréal - Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (April 2017), CIUSSS de l’Estrie – Centre hospitalier universitaire de Sherbrooke (May 2018), Montreal West Island CIUSSS – St-Mary's Hospital (July 2019), CISSS de la Montérégie-Centre - Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne (March 2020), CIUSSS du Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean - Hôpital de Chicoutimi (March 2020) and CIUSSS du Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal – Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur-de-Montréal (July 2021).

"Participating in the Group will allow us to have access to new clinical trials, which means additional research for the benefit of patients in our region" Dr. Michel Pavic, Oncologist and Head of service, CIUSSS de l’Estrie-CHUS.

STATISTICS ON CLINICAL RESEARCH
88 %

Cancer survival rate after 5 years. This encouraging rate is attributable in part to treatments available through clinical research.

44 %

Percentage of all breast cancer clinical trials conducted in Canada that are available in Quebec hospitals (about 100). There are 3200 clinical trials worldwide.

4,5 %

Average participation rate of cancer patients in clinical trials in Canada. The goal of the Group is to reach or exceed the target participation of 10% set by the American Society of Clinical Oncology for breast cancer patients.

NEWS
FOUNDING MEMBERS

C’est ensemble que nous nous sommes impliqués personnellement pendant plusieurs années pour rassembler les grands acteurs de la recherche clinique au Québec. Notre vision était que la lutte au cancer du sein passait nécessairement par un accès et une participation accrus à des protocoles de recherche innovants. Soutenu par une contribution privée de notre famille, le Groupe McPeak-Sirois est devenu, en 2015, une réalité dont nous sommes particulièrement fiers. C’est aujourd’hui l’un des plus importants consortiums de recherche clinique en cancer du sein au Canada.

Susan McPeak et Charles Sirois

C’est ensemble que nous nous sommes impliqués personnellement pendant plusieurs années pour rassembler les grands acteurs de la recherche clinique au Québec. Notre vision était que la lutte au cancer du sein passait nécessairement par un accès et une participation accrus à des protocoles de recherche innovants. Soutenu par une contribution privée de notre famille, le Groupe McPeak-Sirois est devenu, en 2015, une réalité dont nous sommes particulièrement fiers. C’est aujourd’hui l’un des plus importants consortiums de recherche clinique en cancer du sein au Canada.

Susan McPeak et Charles Sirois

Notre mission consiste à mieux lutter
contre le cancer du sein en augmentant
l’accès et la participation des personnes
atteintes aux protocoles de recherche clinique.

Objectifs 2015-2023

Le Programme Accès-recherche a été créé pour rapprocher la recherche clinique des personnes atteintes du cancer du sein dans tout le Québec en ayant un partenariat avec au moins un établissement par région d’ici 2023.

En date de l'automne 2021, six membres issus du Programme Accès-recherche ont rejoint les quatre membres fondateurs. Il s’agit du CIUSSS de l’Est-de-l’Île-de-Montréal - Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont (avril 2017), du CIUSSS de l’Estrie – Centre hospitalier universitaire de Sherbrooke (mai 2018) du CIUSSS de l’Ouest-de-l’Île-de-Montréal – Centre hospitalier de St-Mary (juillet 2019), du CISSS de la Montérégie-Centre - Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne (mars 2020), du CIUSSS du Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean - Hôpital de Chicoutimi (mars 2020) et et du CIUSSS du Nord-de-l'Île-de-Montréal – Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur-de-Montréal (juillet 2021).

« Participer au Groupe va nous permettre d’avoir accès à de nouveaux essais thérapeutiques, donc de la recherche supplémentaire au bénéfice des patientes de notre région »
Dr Michel Pavic, Oncologue et chef de service, CIUSSS de l’Estrie-CHUS.

STATISTIQUES SUR LA RECHERCHE CLINIQUE
88 %

Taux de survie au cancer après 5 ans. Ce taux encourageant est attribuable notamment aux traitements disponibles via la recherche clinique.

44 %

Pourcentage de tous les essais cliniques sur le cancer du sein réalisés au Canada qui sont disponibles dans les centres hospitaliers québécois (~100). On en dénombre 3200 à l’échelle mondiale.

4,5 %

Taux moyen de participation des patient(e)s atteints de cancer dans des essais cliniques au Canada. L’objectif du Groupe est d’atteindre, voire dépasser la cible de 10% de participation, fixée par l’American Society of Clinical Oncology.

ACTUALITÉS
NOS MEMBRES FONDATEURS